Arthur Avenue: Park When You See Jesus


My brother Brandon was in town this weekend staying with us, and made a request to visit Arthur Avenue in the Belmont section of the Bronx. I’ve waxed rhapsodical on Arthur Avenue on this blog a number of times. For those in the know, the “Real” Little Italy is in the Bronx, near Arthur Avenue and 187th street. It is the “go to” destination if you want to be able to shop for authentic Italian provisions and eat at the some of best Italian-American restaurants New York City and the surrounding area has to offer.

Arthur Avenue and Belmont isn’t just Italian though — the community is also home to Kosovans, Albanians, Montenegrans and a large Mexican population, with their own stores and representative restaurants as well. This mural memorializing Anton Nikci, a famous local Albanian/Montenegran is adjoining an alleyway off Arthur that has a large municipal parking lot. I always tell everyone to “Park when they see Jesus”.

When you see Jesus, you know you’re about to have a transcendental Italian-American experience. Click on the “Read the rest of this entry” link below for more.

The Arthur Avenue retail market, the center of the universe for shopping for Italian-American goods in NYC.

I love to watch these guys roll up cigars. I’m not much of a smoker, but I find this stuff totally mesmerizing.

“I’m Al Capone and I approve this message”

Saturday is a big shopping day for the retail market.

Sorpressatas drying at Mike’s Deli.

Look away, nothing to see here.

Benedict protects the salamis.

Spicy and sweet Casalingua salamis.

Not sure which Salami is the right one for you? Have a tasting.

Casalingua? “Okay, how much do you want?”

“One pound? Okay.”

Pete’s Meat, which adjoins Mike’s Deli, is one of my favorite butcher shops in NYC. Like us, they’ve started to serve some more healthy options. These are Italian-style Chicken Burgers.

The retail market even has its own Pizzeria. I won’t be having any of this though.

Biancardi’s is another quality butcher next to the retail market.

Addeo Bakery makes some killer bread.

I haven’t been to Giovanni’s yet.

Rigoletto is a very solid Italian-American restaurant.

I think I’m in the mood for some freshly shucked clams. Cosenza’s is always willing to oblige.

A pretty plate of clams and shrimp.

Yankees fans dig in.

Mmmmmmmmmm! Clammy.

Clam extreme closeup

Arthur Avenue Cafe, which is run by Mike’s Deli majordomo David Grecco and his mom, Antoinette.

Dangerous stuff.

New York Pistachio Cheesecake. You won’t be disappointed.

This chocolate tart was outrageously rich.

A perfect cappuchino.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

17 Responses to Arthur Avenue: Park When You See Jesus

  1. […] minutes driving time and eight miles from Midtown Manhattan, and I can get to a Yankees game or the Belmont section of the Bronx (my favorite NYC Italian dining destination) in about 20-25 minutes if there isn’t any […]

  2. Melissa says:

    You’ve got some great photos here with that new camera, Jason! Excellent work on this piece!

  3. hellen46 says:

    nice pictures of different types of healthy foods

  4. Scott A. says:

    OMG That Pistachio Cheesecake looks SO GOOD! I have to go there next time. Can you send some down to FL???

  5. Caitlin Jenkins says:

    i will go right now~ looks DE liscious!

  6. […] minutes driving time and eight miles from Midtown Manhattan, and I can get to a Yankees game or the Belmont section of the Bronx (my favorite NYC Italian dining destination) in about 20-25 minutes if there isn’t any […]

  7. […] the fact that Rachel and I are trying to avoid brunchy, carb-laden stuff, I suggested we go to Arthur Avenue, do a little window shopping and try Umberto’s Clam House, a seafood restaurant that is open […]

  8. […] of our Arthur Avenue “routine” — Shop at the Retail Market for specialty items, hit Teitel Brothers for bulk goods, go buy bread (and cannoli) at Madonia, grab some raw clams at Co…, hit the Cheese Shop, and then go have dinner — EARLY! — at Roberto. Notice that I […]

  9. Hunter says:

    Roberto’s is the best place to eat, bring patience though because no reservations accepted.

  10. John says:

    Nice post, wish it was longer. And great pics! I try to go every now and then, on a Saturday, that’s the best day.

  11. Rosie says:

    Hi, that’s my late uncle’s memorial, and please kindly correct his origin, because he is not from Kosovo. He’s from Montenegro/Albanian. Thank you for including his memorial.

  12. Catholic Albo!!! says:

    He was a catholic Albanian from Montenegro. Also correct where it say Albanians and Kosovans because Kosovans are Albanians. Duhhh there is no reason why me a Kosovar should not be called and Albanian!!

  13. Lex Lewis says:

    My Wife’s and my favorite Belmont restaurant is Ann and Tony’s on Arthur Avenue right off 187th Street. We’ve never been dissapointed with a meal there. It’s the best!

  14. Rachel Perlow says:

    I just love the title of this post. I wish there were a place to nominate blogs for best post title. :)

  15. Joey says:

    Arthur Avenue Merchant List

    Come Visit why everyone talks about, Little Italy on Arthur Avenue, 187th Street

  16. […] first stop for the evening was at Arthur Avenue Cafe (shown in a previous post) which used to be primarily a lunch and dessert type of place but has recently hired a chef from […]

  17. What an adorable looking cheesecake! I love the texture and the color, is that really pistachio? I haven’t had pistachio cheesecake before.

Leave a comment