Going To Hell in a BLT and Loving It


Besides Insalata Caprese another good way to honor an excellent tomato is the BLT sandwich. On Thursday I picked up the nicest, biggest Brandywine heirloom tomato from the Teaneck Farmers Market. Tonight, just before heading out to Rascal’s Comedy Club in Montclair, we made ourselves a big BLT (with bacon we bought at Kocher’s) on two big thick slices of toasted challah bread.

Okay, maybe I’m going to hell for desecrating the sacred Chally. But I mean, how different really is a challah from something like brioche? Challah just begs for a rich and salty meat, with a juicy tomato, lettuce and mayonnaise. Why should brioche get all the love? I say liberate the challah from the French Toast and the shabbas motze, and use it for your favorite club sandwich. Because deep down a challah just wants to party on Friday night.

4 Responses to Going To Hell in a BLT and Loving It

  1. Katie Pizzuto says:

    I realize this post is a couple of years old, but I just stumbled on it after posting my own version of a BLT, and as a fellow Jersian, just wanted to say: That’s a great damned looking BLT! Cheers!

  2. curio cook says:

    LMAO!!!! I too came across this post while doing a search, and I gotta tell ya… I’m soooo loving the title. :-P LOL

  3. leah says:

    Just came across this- very funny- and as a Jew- don’t worry we forgive you..lol.
    Enjoy!!!!

  4. mumbi says:

    Oh my goodness! This sandwich is holy to me because it’s overall texture screams crunchy and crisp! I would hate to ruin the overall crunch of this sandwich with a watery topping like ketchup! I bought this new condiment called Onion Crunch that I would love to try out as a topping on this sandwich! It is crunchy and crisp just like the bacon and bread! I think they will go very well together! This is the new condiment: http://www.onioncrunch.com

Leave a comment