August 6, 2009 Updates: Chengdu 1, Green Door Cafe

August 5, 2009

Chengdu 1 Collage (August 2009) by you.

Chengdu 1 in Cedar Grove continues to dish out wonderful spicy Sichuan treats.

Green Door Cafe, Tenafly NJ by you.

Green Door Cafe, still fresh from its glowing review by in the Bergen Record by Bill Pitcher, is  banging out fantastic organic and sustainable dining.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

When a Warranty Repair becomes a Hostage Situation

August 5, 2009

zd-broken-screen by you.

It has been a few weeks since I told my tale of woe and broken laptop screens.

In summary, for those of you who missed it, my wife contacted me on my mobile while I was out shopping and told me the screen on my 13″ HP Elitebook was broken — she had adjusted the screen while using it in bed, and through some combination of pressure or torsion due to a slipped thumb, the substrate underneath the glass ruptured and the LCD was damaged. We contacted HP technical support, sent them a digital photograph of the broken screen, and the tech in India made the call to have us send it in as it was deemed to be a warranty repair and it would be no problem.

Click to read the rest of this article at ZDNet Tech Broiler.