A White Castle Valentine


Editor’s Note: Here’s one of our first posts on Off The Broiler, resurrected for Valentine’s Day weekend.

I realize this blog is named after a Burger King-ism, but anyone who really knows me is well aware I am a staunch and rabid missionary of the Church of Slyders.

This year, Rachel and I decided to celebrate our 11th Valentines Day together at White Castle. Sure, it was corny, it was chintzy, and we had this bloated nauseating feeling afterwards. But isn’t that what true love is supposed to be?

In my opinion Valentine’s day is a totally commercialized holiday, far worse than Christmas, that is designed to bilk your loved ones out of buying you totally useless throwaway gifts, and then to force you to endure one of the worst days of the year for restaurant going.

What venue would be better than White Castle? Click on the “Read the rest of this entry” link below for more.

Rachel and I have probably had some of the most expensive Valentines day dates you can possibly imagine, with all the stress and aggravation that come with it. But you know what? This was one of the best we’ve ever had together. Maybe the marketing guys at White Castle are bunch of geniuses.

If you can’t head for the Crave — I hope those of you reading this blog have opted to stay home, cooked something nice for each other, or ordered out for pizza or Chinese food and turned down the lights, and lit a couple of candles, and broken out the peppermint-scented foot massage oil and the aromatherapy kit. This shouldn’t a day for running out and dealing with overbooked restaurants — it’s for spending it together.

Happy Valentine’s day, honey. I love you. Where’s the Imodium and the Prilosec?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

19 Responses to A White Castle Valentine

  1. Jennifer says:

    *laugh* I love the flowers. Were they on the table or did you bring your own?

  2. Stash says:

    Not just any old sliders, but belly bombs. As in these: http://forums.egullet.org/index.php?showtopic=38912

  3. A White Castle Valentine

    Remember how we told you White Castle would be going all lovey dovey for V Day? Yeah? Good. Did you take your sweetheart there? Well, Jason Perlow, one of the founders of eGullet did. Jason has recently launched a blog,…

  4. V-Day at White Castle

    So my friends were talking about a promotion at White Castle for making reservations for Valentine’s Day. I think Jerry said he had reservations, so gotta hear what he has to say about it. In the meantime, here are some…

  5. PCL(sneep) says:

    Romance is what you make of it. Frankly, it sounds divine to me, and VERRRRY romantic.

    Congratulations on 11 years together!

  6. s'kat says:

    Now that’s true love!

  7. White Castle V-Day with the Huangs

    I guess I’m just obsessed with White Castle since I have never been to one, and it seems to be such a well-known establishment. Too bad we don’t have any over here in California, but I’m sure glad that In…

  8. Danno says:

    I love Whitey’s! They never seem to taste as great sober, but damn I can crush some sliders and a jumbo cheese stick when I’m drunk, they taste so damned good.

  9. […] Fast food is not something I indulge in frequently, and when I do, I tend to prefer the classic Americana kind rather than the big chains. White Castle is an exception, just because of the uniqueness of the product, but if the hours are right, and the moons are properly aligned, and my stomach says “throw your best at me, you son of a bitch!” then I head over to my very favorite Jersey burger place of all — White Manna, on River Street in Hackensack. […]

  10. Danno says:

    I love it!!! My wife and I are thankfully past Valentine’s Day celebrations (aka amateur hour), so I love this tribute to purity in a relationship, less is more.

  11. Kathleen says:

    I live in northern Minnesota. The closest white castle is four hours away.

    I’m jealous. I am.

  12. I actually love White Castle more than my X. Part of the White Castle experience is unrestrained American style over-indulgence. The only place you can go for more food is a buffet. Box after box of delicious grilled beef with fried onions in every bite on a squishy steamed bun. Nothing else quite like it in the world.

  13. Kate says:

    I am *totally* with you on this one. The stress, aggravation, and ultimately the let down of the too-hyped Vday dinner just isn’t worth it, and I’ve had plenty in otherwise wonderful restaurants. I think this idea is far superior, funny, charming, homey, decent, and very reliable. I hope you enjoyed it. It sure looks fun, and good, to me. Wish I could a try a White Castle in my lifetime…is it pathetic that I want to come back east just to do so?

  14. Kate: Hey, at least in California you have In-N-Out. No reason why you can’t bring your own flowers and tablecloth!

  15. Tim says:

    That’s the Hasbrouck Heights one, right?

  16. Rachel says:

    No, Hackensack. It was fun when we did it. I told Jay to recycle this because we drove by the WC a few days before V-day and it reminded me of it.

    But, just looking at all those burgers and fries and giant sugar filled sodas now kind of turns my stomach.

  17. Chef Knives says:

    Wowzas…I never thought of that as even an option..I’m a little late for the holiday, but I def. have my plans for next year!

  18. Ryan's Mommy says:

    I am a single momma to the world’s best baby boy! He will be 1 next month and I wasn’t sure what we were going to do for his very first Valentine’s Day. After going back and forth as to whether or not to go to a fancy dinner (and run the risk of ruining other’s romantic meals) I decided that White Castle was the PERFECT place! He will be in his tux (because, I spent a fortune on it and where else is a baby going to wear it!?!?) and a t-shirt that reads “I LOVE MOMMY”

  19. […] becoming something of a burger town, being home to the legendary White Manna, a long standing White Castle location as well as a Five Guys which opened in […]

Leave a comment