Rhode Island Dining: Evelyn’s Drive In


Evelyn’s Drive In
2335 Main Road (Rt. 77) Tiverton, RI
(401) 624-3100

Web Site: http://www.evelynsdrivein.com

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Evelyn’s Drive In, on the shores of the Narragansett Bay on Nanaquaket Pond in Tiverton, Rhode Island, is one of the most authentic New England clam shack dining experiences you are going to ever going to encounter.

When I’m traveling  to places that I’m not familiar with, I rely heavily on online sources of information for discovering new restaurants to dine at. Forums such as eGullet and Chowhound used to be where I got most of my recommendations, but now that I’ve long joined the corps of rogue bloggers, I search out “locals” who write blogs like my own, who are close to the action and have the most up-to-date information.

So when I was headed towards Providence, Rhode Island this week on a business trip, I contacted local resident Jennifer Hess, who writes the very excellent cooking blog Last Night’s Dinner.

Jennifer is a recently expatriated  New Yorker who now lives in Providence. One of the recommendations she gave me was for Evelyn’s Drive In, a true New England “Clam Shack” in the historic town of Tiverton, about 22 miles Southeast of Providence crossing the Taunton River and the Braga Bridge. The 41-year old restaurant was featured on a 2007 episode of “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives” on Food Network.

Click on the “Read the rest of this entry” link below for more.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

This is a view of Evelyn’s from Main Road in Tiverton. During the height of the season the restaurant is extremely busy.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

The authentic experience is to order your food up front, and take it to the picnic tables and relax by the shoreline. But the restaurant also has waitress service in the patio area out in the back.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Seafood prices in New England are highly volatile, so the restaurant prices at current market levels. This stuff isn’t cheap, but it’s very fresh.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

While Evelyn’s most popular food items are traditional fried seafood dishes, they also have a complete dinner menu with more modern items on it.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Evelyn’s full menu. Click the photo to enlarge.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

A montage of the patio dining area.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

There aren’t that many outdoor dining locations in New England that beat this.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

I liked this shot.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

I chose to eat at the picnic tables and observe the wildlife.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

This particular local was very aggressive about wanting to be fed. He wasn’t getting any of my fried clams, at those prices!

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Clear Rhode Island chowder, which is effectively water, clam juice, potatoes and Quahog clam meat, with a touch of cream added to finish each order. Damn good stuff.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Deep-Fried Bay Scallops. Lightly breaded, sweet and succulent.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Fried New England “Ipswich” clam bellies, served with French Fries and Slaw. A meal fit for a king, or a Kennedy.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Now this is what I call ambiance.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Extreme belly close-up.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Signs of the good life.

Evelyn's Drive In, Tiverton RI by you.

Staring at this for about an hour while I munched on my seafood made me forget I was on a business trip.

Coastal Roasters, Tiverton RI by you.

Just up the road from Evelyn’s is this cute little independent coffee shop. As I was driving past it I smelled the most incredible odor wafting out of there so I had to take a look.

Coastal Roasters, Tiverton RI by you.

It was a whole pan of Sumatran Arabica being espresso roasted. The aroma was unbelievable.

Coastal Roasters, Tiverton RI by you.

Coastal’s hot drinks menu.

I picked up a large iced coffee to go, which kept me awake on the drive back to Providence. It happened to be an Indonesian Arabica blend that day. Coastal only uses the more expensive Arabica beans, no Robustos, which gives their coffee a nice smooth flavor.

3 Responses to Rhode Island Dining: Evelyn’s Drive In

  1. Christine says:

    As a Southerner/Californian who will soon be hanging my hat in New Jersey, I’ve found your blog to be a source of hopeful anticipation of the new food experiences that lie ahead. It’s great to see so much to look forward to!

  2. John says:

    In that area I’ve been to Evelyn’s, Flo’s Clam Shack and Anthony’s. All three are good. Evelyn’s clams were the best, hands down. They were bigger than Flo’s and Anthony’s BUT they are WAY more expensive. Evelyn’s is the most scenic. There’s a good ice cream place down the street and a shop called the Provender. I think in Little Compton.

    We usually go to Anthony’s. It’s probably the cheapest and the least touristy. No ocean view. It’s in Middletown, on Aquidneck Ave. Nearby, across the street, is Provencal Bakery, which we like a lot. It’s behind a row of shops.

  3. Winnie says:

    I just saw Evelyn’s featured on the FOOD CHANNEL… Guy Fieri’s segment… My mouth was “watering” as he sampled so many of your delicious dishes… I have been to Flo’s Clam Shack when I visited my Rhode Island relatives (I live in Florida) and enjoyed good seafood, etc. there. Hope to someday sample your menu.

    Winnie

Leave a comment