Check out Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations, 10PM March 8th, 2010 “Obsessed” on the Travel Channel


Episode Synopsis: Anthony talks to chefs and bloggers whose obsessive love for food drives them to noteworthy feats.

If you’re a fan of Off the Broiler and have been following my activities for the last 10 years, this is an episode you don’t want to miss. There’s a bunch of familiar faces in this one, including eGullet’s Steven Shaw and Opinionated About’s Steve Plotnicki.

Updated: Here’s a video clip exclusively for the web where we discuss anonymity in restaurant reviewing.

Promo 1

Promo 2

9 Responses to Check out Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations, 10PM March 8th, 2010 “Obsessed” on the Travel Channel

  1. Rosie says:

    Looking forward to watching this episode.

  2. Jon says:

    Never realized what a big head Tony has. I mean seeing it next to Jason, who I know has a reasonably big head, and Tony’s is bigger?

    I wonder, did White Manna polish all of the Chrome before you guys came in?

    Looking forward to seeing it. Hopefully lots of people will come back and post comments here about how super-awesome Jason was after the episode airs. :-)

  3. Hi Jason,

    I was looking for “gumbo z’herbes” online but glad I found you!

    I write about healthy restaurant food in New Orleans – the good stuff, though. Bites of pork & chocolate & beer & more pork. Oh yeah, and local produce & grilled fish too.

    Though I generally control myself, I get giddy over food, every time.

    So I’m eager to see what you & Tony have to say about obsessed foodies – I’m one of them!

  4. Robert says:

    Outstanding, Jason. I hope he was able to take an objective look at bloggers generally? My understanding is that he’s pretty critical of the species. He did a short interview with David Chang that touched on the topic, and it was pretty wrong-headed in every respect. .

    • Jon says:

      No idea what Bourdain said in the past to this David Chang. But Robert, you are kind of assuming Jason doesn’t agree with him, aren’t you?

      To me, it seems like bloggers encompass both the worst and the best of the foodie mindset. It really CAN go either way. If Bourdain is being fair, I suppose he’ll acknowledge both extremes.

  5. congrats on your inclusion in the “Obsessed” episode, (gee, that title seems vaguely familiar), looking forward to it on Monday!

  6. Jesse Casman says:

    Any way to get this online? Guessing from your comments on Bourdain’s policy around pictures, maybe not.

  7. Very cool Jason – can’t wait to watch this! I’m sure Bourdain respects your straightforward, knowledge-based approach to food and restaurant blogging. As I’ve checked out more and more food blogs, I’ve really had my eyes opened!

Leave a Reply

