Arthur C. Clarke, 1917-2008


Read the complete article on ZDNet (click)

4 Responses to Arthur C. Clarke, 1917-2008

  1. Melissa says:

    http://adventurebooks.newsvine.com/_news/2008/03/19/1375876-the-true-legacy-of-sir-arthur-c-clarke

    “the Great One of Science Fiction has died. He will certainly be missed, but his legacy is so vast, and his involvement with both the fictional and factual aspects of space exploration are so profound that he will never be forgotten.
    unlike Wells and Verne, Arthur Clarke had the unique opportunity to see his imaginings of a space travel future made reality. And also unlike them, he wrote practical applications for space that are still in use today, such as the famous Clarke Orbit, which is another name for a geosynchronous orbit.

    In his now-famous article from the October, 1945 issue of Wireless World, he demonstrated how to place satellites in a stationary orbit, spaced evenly apart, thereby enabling world communications by transmitting signals around the Earth through these satellites.”

    What a brilliant mind he had!

  2. Jon says:

    Good show, Jason.

    Hey, were you already working on this at 2 in the morning when I emailed you, or did you just stay up all night? Not that Sir Arthur wasn’t well worth a night of missed sleep.

    As with you, Clarke was at the very root of my Science Fiction reading habit. Heck, at the root of ANY of my reading. I probably never would have attempted “Lord of the Rings” if I hadn’t read Clarke, Asimov and Bradbury first.

    And while my favorite books have shifted over the years many times, “The Fountains of Paradise” has never fallen out of my top ten, and likely never will.

    I’ll confess to have not been equally enamored of all of his writing, but his IDEAS always intrigued and called to me. He taught me to think when I read, and even if that occasionally left me scratching my head, heck, I WAS still thinking, wasn’t I?

  3. I was already up working on it. But then again I was already up till like 1am waiting for my profile in the New York Times to come out, and I wanted people to read that Clarke piece the next day.

  4. Asad says:

    Arthur C. Clarke was a master. His imagination was vivid. His understanding of science was deep and rich. His Childhood’s End was a true classic. He will be missed.

Leave a Reply

