NJ Dining: Guernsey Crest Ice Cream


Guernsey Crest Ice Cream Co
134 19th Ave, Paterson, NJ
(973) 742-4620

There are certain places that you shouldn’t judge on external appearances alone — and one of these is Guernsey Crest Ice Cream in Paterson.

Opened by the Cornwell family in 1927, Guernsey Crest has been producing ice cream commercially and serving its fans for 80 years now. The family owned business, now in its fourth generation, resides in a part of Paterson that has seen better days. The building looks like the last major renovation was in the 60’s or 70’s and is covered in graffiti. The signs look weathered and overall it has a scary, ghetto-like appearance. Frankly, it looks more like an ice cream place you’d find on the last scene of the Sopranos than Holsten’s does.

I think this paint needs a touch-up.

The first time I attempted to go to Guernsey Crest, when surfing ice cream parlor listings on my GPS navigation device, I drove by this building thinking something highly illegal was going on. In fact, when I came to the realization that this in fact WAS an ice cream business, I chickened out and didn’t come back until I got reliable confirmation that the ice cream was good.

Here’s the list of ice cream flavors, which is displayed outside.

The counter area, which resembles an urban check cashing business. I wonder if those windows are bulletproof.

The full menu of ice cream treats. Notice you can get gallon and 3 gallon pails if you want — they produce this stuff for commercial distribution.

Rachel’s amaratto chip ice cream cone — a whole $1.25! I had a banana shake, which was excellent. Total bill, $4.50.

22 Responses to NJ Dining: Guernsey Crest Ice Cream

  1. Hot Tub Johnny says:

    I have to disagree with you on this place. I didn’t think the ice cream was all that enjoyable (which doesn’t happen to me all that often.) I found it to be lacking in flavor and having a rather unpleasant mouthfeel – dense, but not creamy. It was cheap and the portion was huge, but I wouldn’t go back or reccommend it to anyone. Although, it was kinda fun being in the ghetto – it felt dangerous eating this ice cream.

  2. Brian says:

    Wow johnny your very wrong about their ice cream its the best ice cream around and cheapest they give u mountain of ice cream on a cone for only 1.50 dont listen to that guy unless u want to go to a franchise like baskin robbins which cant compare to guernsey crest at all.

  3. shaniqua says:

    I happened to drive by this place the other day after asking around to see if it really was worth the trip. It is located 1 block down from Market Street and not really in a bad area of paterson at all. but all that shouldnt matter cause that was some of the best ice cream i have ever tasted. also to find its NEWLY RENOVATED. inside its all brandnew and bigger, the outside got a new coat of paint but still looks like it needs some work, and the signs are the same. good find overall!!!

  4. M Holla says:

    Yeah that guy john is very wrong, guernsey crest ice cream is the best ice cream place in paterson and maybe even the best in Jersey. The quality, the size of serving, and the price are the best around n e where. So I would recommend Guernsey Crest Ice Cream to anyone who wants great quality ice cream ya dig.

  5. HEC says:

    Look johnny i dont know what ice cream store u went to but im sure it wasnt Guernsey Crest because guernsey crest has the best ice cream ever. The taste is good, the amount you get is good, and the price is good, it doesnt get better than that. If u dont want to believe me theres a sign right outside the store and it says “Taste Tells” so just try it for yourself and trust me you wont be disappointed.

  6. josephine says:

    TODAY MY DAD DROVE 50 MILES TO GUERNSEY CREST IN PATERSON SO THAT I COULD ENJOY THE BEST ICE CREAM SHOP IN NEW JERSEY.HE WASN’T KIDDING. I HAD THE BEST SUNDAE THAT I EVER TASTED. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS ICE CREAM PLACE TO EVERYONE I MEET. THE PRICES ARE VERY REASONABLE FOR THE AMOUNT OF ICE CREAM THAT THEY GIVE YOU, HANDMADE ON THE PREMISES AND DELICIOUS.IF YOU REALLY WANT TO TREAT YOURSELF STOP BY!!!!!!!

  7. Krstina says:

    I WAS BORN AND RAISED IN PATERSON AND I’VE BEEN EATING ICE CREAM AT GUERNSEY CREST FOR AS LONG AS I COULD REMEMBER IT HAS THE BEST ICE CREAM ON EARTH!!! LET ME TELL YOU SOMETHING JOHNNY YOU WILL GET SMACKED IF YOU DISRESPECT MY CITY EVER AGAIN!!! PATERSON IS NOT A BAD CITY AT ALL!!! AND ITS NOT DANGEROUS BEING IN THE GHETTO. PLUS GUERNSEY CREST ISN’T EVEN LOCATED IN THE GHETTO ITS IN A VERY NICE NEIGHBORHOOD!!!

  8. Toney from Barnegat says:

    Dear “Hot Tub Johnny”
    Exactly what do you mean by “it was kinda fun being in the ghetto – it felt dangerous eating this ice cream”. If your expedition was to try the ice cream, why the “dis” The social commentary. This is by my opinion one of Paterson’s many hidden treasures. Yes, I do drive up from South Jersey to have a cone every now and then.
    BEST IN THE STATE

  9. Melissa says:

    Guernesey’s is pretty much the best ice cream around Passaic County.

    sure, there’s Gelotti’s, which comes pretty close in amazing-ness, but nothing can compare to what you get at Guernesey Crest. So what if the exterior’s not that great, and the area sucks? haha, Paterson houses some pretty interesting places.

    PLUS, they just remodeled the inside…… sorta. =P
    check it out. =D

  10. Patrick says:

    I lived around the corner on E 27th street from 1966 – 1975 as a kid. The owners of Guernsey lived right across the street. The neighborhood certainly has changed a lot since I lived there, but it was amazing to me how the pictures above match exactly how it looked back then minus the graffiti, the security doors and the windows on the counter :>)
    My friends and I used to save our pennies because you could buy a fudgescicle for 6 cents back then. My favorite ice cream was chocolate chip mint. Boy how times have changed. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  11. Lydia says:

    this is the best ice cream ever… yes it is in paterson but who cares.. the people that work there are soo nice its clean in side… its cheep what can u ask for???? my god people i dont understand you …if its expensive no one wants to but it if its cheep people still bitch .. come ON.. if it would be FREE than every one will like it.. trust me once u try there ice cream and your human than you Love it!!!!!!! its the best ice cream ever~~~~ its sooo worth the trip <3

  12. nick says:

    hot tub johnny….this is the response that people give when they are used to tasting the processed crap you get at everyday places like Maggie moos for an 8 dollar milkshake that’s probably not even ice cream….Guernsey crest definitely has the best tasting and best put together ice cream in NJ for the best price…i have had their ice cream on many occasions including dinners at local restaurants and banquet halls that they deliver to and out of their old and brandy new storefront(newly renovated A+)…..this ice cream is definitely the best tasting and quality ice cream iv ever had and anyone I know has had…..i feel going anywhere else is inferior and a waste of money….Guernsey keep up the best work

  13. Fonz says:

    I grew up just around the corner frrom Guernsey Crest and have been all around the world, tasting many different ice creams. Gurernsey Crest is the champion of ice cream parlors for tastes, quality and price. NO Match anywhere else. I even worked in ‘High Quality’ ice cream parlor called Grunnings in South Orange, NJ it did not compare. The only other business who may be able to keep up would be the Apple Gate in Montclair, the ambiance of area plays a role in it but they do make a mean banana ice cream.

    But to reiterate Guernsey Crest can only be better after have a few dogs ‘all the way’ from either Teddy’s (which is around the corner and up the street) or Johnny and Hange’s. All quality establishments even if the locale isn’t the best.

  14. Brian says:

    I truly love GC too!

    My favorite is their chocolate chip mint.

    Truth be told, our experiences with some of their other favorites have been mixed, but for my money, you can’t beat the value. And their chocolate chip mint is the greatest I’ve ever tasted…hands down!

    I forgot to add that I actually wrote more about GC on my blog, http://apassionforgoodfood.blogspot.com/2009/03/how-do-i-love-thee-guernsey-crest-let.html

  15. Mister Matt says:

    The Guernsey Crest Ice Cream Company over on 19th Avenue……nothing, but the best! You must try their pistachio. Superb! If you’re in the mood for some real old fashioned ice cream then Guernsey Crest is must visit. It probably tops the list which includes Apple Gate Farms in Upper Montclair, Van Dyke’s in Ridgewood and Springer’s in Stone Harbor (south of Atlantic City, north of Cape May) for that old fashioned ice cream taste.

    Some other gems in Paterson: stop by Patsy’s Tavern on 7th Ave & E. 17th St, Libby’s on McBride Ave for some Texas Weiners, Roast Beef & Gravy, Burgers, etc. (and you can take your lunch for the short walk over to the Paterson Falls around the corner), Minardi’s on Grand Ave for some baked goods and fresh bread. Also Gianella’s on 21st Ave, excellent bread, although the store front is gone so you have to knock on the side door on Gray Street which opens into the oven baking and storage area. Tell someone what you need and you can just pay them for your goods on the spot.

    Teddy’s over on Market St, around the corner from Guernsey Crest, the Corrall on Hazel, E&V on Chamberlain Ave, the Getty Grill on Getty Ave……so many places that are still around.

    Sorry Fonz, but the old Johnny & Hanges on River Street has relocated across the river to Maple Ave in Fair Lawn. Duffy’s Tavern is still across the street from the old place and still draws a crowd into their pub. The old J&H is now Duffy’s Riverside Grill.

    Enjoy!

  16. Allison says:

    We just went here today. What a gem. The $1.50 cones are enormous. My husband had the peace ice cream. obviously made with fresh peaches…

  17. BIG E from Wayne says:

    WOW…. best ice cream ever. I was reading all the reply’s and had to find this place. This is by far the best ice cream I ever had and I’ve had alot of different brands over the years. I went on a Sunday and the place was packed, the line went out the door but moved fast. There must have been 8 or 9 people working behind the counter and all the workers seemed very friendly. I did have to park a 1/2 block away because of all the people going there, but the neighborhood is not bad at all, in fact everyone there seems to know each other from town. If your looking for top of the line ice cream I highly recommend finding this place, it will be worth the trip. Keep up the great work Guernsey, can’t wait to go back for more………….

  18. diane says:

    !!!!!!!!!!!!wow its really amazing.I enjoy eating ice cream at GC…………….. keep up the gud work guy’z

  19. Joseph Chang says:

    This place is addictive!!! So many great flavors to choose from and so little time. I’ve been having black and white milkshakes (no syrup) for lunch, for the past couple of weeks and can’t seem to stop. Just tried the lemon ice cream–delicious. The strawberry is great. The cake batter wonderful! and the mint chocalate chip superb. Don’t worry about the neighborhood, it’s fine. I’m a local attorney and walk to this place from my office, never had a problem.

  20. Lor says:

    I agree Gurensey Crest is the absolute best ice cream I have ever tasted in NJ or anywhere else! It is SOOOO creamy and flavorful, and has a great variety of flavors. The prices are great, and the portions are huge. The Peanut Butter Twirl is to die for. Creamy with chunks and ribbons of peanut butter throughout. My family loves this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. Kathy Niclaus says:

    Sitting in my LR in western Arizona and having a dish of butter pecan suddenly made me think of Guernsey Crest- the place where my mother bought ice cream for special occasions. ( Family of six kids and dad a Paterson fireman in the sixties, Garden State Farms was the everyday stuff.) I can remember all the way back to having my tonsils out in 1964 as a same day surgery at Barnert hospital and lulling around with a sore throat in the back seat of the car on the way home. Mom stopped at Guernsey Crest to get ice cream for me, and at the tender age of 5 I still remember the paper carton hand packed with the waxed paper on top due to the contents exceeding the space of the carton.

    We always revered the ice cream there, and having it was a special treat. Imagine my delight in googling the name and discovering it is still back in business after all these years. The next time I’m back east and in North Jersey, I will have to go there. So many things associated with childhood and the relative innocence of the sixties (well, at least until the Tet offensive) have long gone by the wayside, but as long as there are iconic places like Guernsey Crest and the families that keep them going a little bit of that innocence lives on.

  22. Great man! Nice and tasty ice creamy post it was! I read it for sake of getting knowledge about Guernsey island, I wonder if the restaurants in Guernsey have fine varieties of ice cream and even few of them ice cream parlors, don’t they? i think, if you visit http://www.yabsta.gg/searchresults/1/restaurants you will find more information.

Leave a Reply

