NJ Dining: Dairy Queen


Dairy Queen
260 Teaneck Rd, Teaneck, NJ
(201) 836-1597

(And Various Locations in the Northern New Jersey Metro Area)

Before Shake Shack, before Ben and Jerry’s, before Cold Stone Creamery, before Haagen Dazs, and before even Carvel there was Dairy Queen.

Established as a small ice cream shop in Kanakee, Illinois in 1938, the chain has expanded to over 5700 stores in 22 countries. Despite its fast-food image, it still remains in my opinion one of the best places to get simple soft-serve ice cream treats.

Many of the Dairy Queens in the NY/NJ metro area are seasonal businesses, in that they operate only during certain months of the year. One of my favorite Dairy Queen locations, and one of the most popular in the local area is the Teaneck, NJ location, where its not uncommon to see long lines even on chilly days.

No, it’s not the final climactic scene on Devil’s Tower from Close Encounters of the Third Kind. But for some of us, the first Blizzard of the Spring/Summer season can be almost as exhilarating as boarding the Mother Ship. Cue the John Williams music.

Dairy Queen in Teaneck is a “hangout” even for these youngsters.

A Strawberry Cheesequake Blizzard, one of the favorite DQ flavors at Off The Broiler.

9 Responses to NJ Dining: Dairy Queen

  1. Jon says:

    Geez, that’s a huge Blizzard.

  2. spamwise says:

    Reminds me of Friendly’s which was probably the NJ suburban equivalent of a DQ.

    Thanks for the memories, Jason.

  3. Doug says:

    Ah the memories – used to go here with my folks when I was a little nugget and get all sorts of good stuff. I usually ordered a small caramel dip vanilla cone or a heath bar crunch blizzard.

  4. Jon says:

    spamwise, isn’t Dairy Queen the NJ suburban equivalent of Dairy Queen?

    Its been in the area since the 1950s, I believe.

  5. We’ve got Friendly’s as well, but they just don’t give me the same warm and fuzzy feeling as DQ.

  6. spamwise says:

    Hi, Jon. Long time no see. (if this is the same Jon from eG)

    I didn’t grow up with a DQ. Friendly’s was our local ice cream parlor. Reese’s Pieces sundaes and all that.

    Jason — I haven’t seen a Carvel’s in ages. The last one I remember was in Chinatown, next door to a David K’s. You might know the one I’m talking about.

  7. cenunn says:

    Up at my lake house, I know the DQ is going to close for the season when first they feature Pumpkin Ice Cream. Then, sadly, the little cone lights are covered with garbage bags and the sign, thanks for a great season, see you next Spring appears. Let me tell you, my first stop, as I go to open the lake in the spring is DQ. Thanks for the fun posting, Jason!

  8. Spamwise: There aren’t that many Carvel franchises left. Most of Carvel’s business is devoted to supermarket sales of their ice cream cakes and Flying Saucer products. During the early 90s most of the franchises got very angry that Carvel was competing with them in supermarkets, so they went rogue. A lot of the original Carvel shops that were built in the 60s and 70s have now become independent ice cream stores, serving more or less similar soft serve ice cream product from the same Carvel-type machines.

  9. Smitty says:

    Wow, I grew up in teaneck but I lived on the other side of town(near englewood) but I remember me and my friends riding our bikes all the way to DQ on teaneck rod to get our sundaes. Matter of fact I still live in the area and me and my wife go there from time to time. I just passed it yesterday and saw there was a line. and it was drizzling!

Leave a Reply

