OXO Made Me A Happy Mango-Splitting Fool


I love tropical fruits, especially mangoes. Their succulent and tangy sweet flesh makes a great afternoon snack, eaten just on their wholesome or added to sorbet recipes, stir fries, or blended with yogurt and drinked as smoothies. I’ve been buying them a lot recently because I’ve been finding them at around $5-$7 a case. They are also incredibly rich in vitamin C. Problem is, like many people, I am an absolute ‘tard when it comes to cutting them up and separating the meat from that clingy, hairy pit in the middle. It usually results in a big juicy mess.

A few days ago Rachel and I were at Bed and Bath looking to pick up something for a bridal shower gift (read as, “Jason was tagging along and wanted to look at digital cameras next door at Best Buy, but he got dragged into Bed and Bath anyway”) where we encountered this cool gadget, the Mango Splitter from OXO. Now apparently, this thing has been on the market for two years, but somehow escaped my notice. Anyway, I was a bit skeptical this thing would work, but I figured it was worth trying for $12 and I’ve had good experiences with OXO products in the past, particularly their peeler, which has become a very important gadget in our household.

The OXO mango splitter.

Are you ready to be a mango-splittin’ fool? Click on the “Read the rest of this entry” link below for more.

First get yourself a ripe mango. This one is from Mexico, but any kind of mango will do.

Place the mango on a clean cutting board, stem side down.

Align the top of the mango so that it tapers with the cutting blade. Wobble the cutting blade down a bit so it bites into the mango.

Push the blade down with both hands on the handles…

And cut the mango in two with one swift motion, separating the halves.

Ta-dah! Split mango, no mess.

As you can see not much flesh is left on the pit, and you can just chew it off as a snack before the snack.

Score the flesh in a tic-tac-toe pattern with a paring knife.

And then, pop out the mango cubes as you would by inverting a baseball cap.

Eat!

9 Responses to OXO Made Me A Happy Mango-Splitting Fool

  1. rslux says:

    OXO gadgets are generally quite good. Microplane brand stuff is also very high quality (and made in the USA too).

  2. Yes the Microplane is a great device. But every foodie home cook already has one!

  3. I’m sold. It’s going on my Wishlist.

  4. Sal C says:

    Ah, but what else does it do? In the words of my patron saint Alton Brown, “There’s only one uni-tasker allowed in my kitchen (pointing to fire exstinguisher)”

  5. As much as I love Alton, I think the whole anti-unitasker thing is a bit too extreme. I mean, you want to use the right tool for the right job, and this thing definitely is.

  6. daisy says:

    i’ve used one of these before…they are THE awesome!

  7. harry says:

    Perfect timing. My mother in law is coming to visit us in a few short weeks just as mango season begins. I’ll be ordering one of these immediately!

  8. nogoodadddy says:

    As a full-on Mango tard, I need to get me one of these.

  9. Randi says:

    I have one and I used it at work on 10 mangoes. A few of them still allowed some of the pit to remain in half of the mango. It happened a few times. I cut a slice of the bottom so it would lay flat on the cutting board. I wonder if that was why? Anyway, it was easy to remedy, i just cut it out with a paring knife.

Leave a Reply

