NJ/NYC Dining: Bon Chon Chicken


2467 Lemoine Ave
Fort Lee, NJ 07024
201-461-1212

New York City Locations:

314 5th Ave, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10138
(212)221-2222

248 West 38th Street
New York, NY
(212)221-2222

157-18 Northern Blvd
Flushing, NY
(718)321-3818

45-37B Bell Blvd
Bayside, NY
(718)225-1010

253-11 Northern Blvd
Little Neck, NY 11362
(718)224-8523

Web site: http://www.bonchon.com

Back in February, a major New York Times article hit the streets, all about Korean-style fried chicken, which seems to have brought about a craze to foodies who all want to get a hold of this crispy, juicy, spicy dish. Well, just so that you guys know and I don’t look like I’m late to this game, I happen to have written the first NYT article on the subject back in 2005, and I profiled another Korean wing joint on this site, Boom Boom Chicken, only two months before the Moskin peice came out. Coinkydink? I don’t think so.

Now that I’ve gotten my Korean fried egomania out of the way, I do have to say I really, really love this dish, and I am a wing nut, so any time I see one of these places pop up I’m right on top of it. Recently a New Jersey branch of Bon Chon Chicken, a chain that originates from Korea, opened up in Fort Lee. Lurie and I went to investigate to see how this particular place stacked up to the local competition, Boom Boom.

Bon Chon storefront on Lemoine Ave. Parking in this area is scarce, and because it takes 15 minutes per order, you should call in advance before showing up.

As with Boom Boom, there are essentially only two things you can order — Wings, Drummetes, or a combination of both (Special) in either Spicy or Soy/Garlic glaze. You can also get a combination of sauces in any order, which is either Medium or Large sized.

Bon Chon has about six tables you can eat at, plus they have a restroom.

Fried Chicken is healthy and is actually GOOD FOR YOU. Now I have proof!

A medium order of “Special” with half and half Spicy and Soy/Garlic.

A spicy drummette.

Spicy cross-section. I can definitely say that I like Bon Chon’s wings, but I have a slight preference to Boom Boom, because while Bon Chon’s “Spicy” wings are hotter, due to use of more dry Korean red pepper, they don’t have as much as a pronounced Gochujang (hot fermented bean paste) and garlicky flavor as Boom Boom’s. I also think Boom Boom’s soy/garlic wings have a more pronounced soy flavor and they use a bit more sauce on their wings. However Bon Chon has more tables to sit at and is in a somewhat more preferable part of Fort Lee, with somewhat more parking, so it’s kind of a toss-up. I’m going to say you’re going to want to try both.

6 Responses to NJ/NYC Dining: Bon Chon Chicken

  1. Nina says:

    What is their secret to a low calorie fried chicken?

    And by the way have you ever been to the La Pastaria in Summit? It is a pretty good restaurant.

  2. MintRed says:

    I had an occasion to eat at Bon Chon in Little Neck, Queens today. It just opened in the past week or two, so I don’t know if it was opening jitters or what, but I’d stay away from that franchise location. I happened to be really irritated, so I wrote a scathing cartoon review here:

    http://www.mintred.com/article/116/on_the_subject_of_eating_at_bon_chon_chicken/

    I probably came off as something of a jerk, but there you have it.

  3. wendy says:

    what makes the chicken crispy

  4. peter says:

    how funny. you photographed my friends kil (orange tshirt) and esther (white shirt). kil owns mola coffee in hoboken.

  5. […] Bon Chon Chicken (Multiple Locations) See Previous Off The Broiler Entry […]

  6. Tuan says:

    I was a dedicated Bon Chon fan. Despite the slow service, the chicken was worth it. I visited tonight at 6:00 PM. The dining room had two tables occupied and the rest was empty. My parents, aunt, sister and two nieces were visiting us from Philly. We raved about Bon Chon so much that they wanted to try it!

    Upon arriving at the restaurant, we were turned away because we had children with us. I have dined there many times and have seen kids there at a later time when the restaurant was packed. We pleaded with the waiter and explained that we were loyal customers and that I had my wife’s birthday party there with over 25 people. His response was “you can either send the kids home or come back without them. My first thought is, why would he make such a stupid, idiotic suggestion like “send the kids home”. If they have a “no child rule”, enforce it equally. I will NEVER visit Bon Chon again. Bottom line is the food is good; the service is slow; and the adolescent waiter who represented himself as the manager was extremely rude! Bye Bye Bon Chon!

Leave a Reply

