Anyone Fancy a Kebab?


In large US cities, when you’re tired, and it’s late at night,  your dining options can be quite limited, For many, Chinese take out can be a welcome sight. But in England, Chinese isn’t the cuisine of choice for late night hunger relief — its all about the Indian Take-away.

I got back to the Thistle Euston in London somewhat late on Wednesday night, and I really didn’t feel like going with room service. So I headed down to nearby Drummond Street, which is home to quite a number of Indian groceries and Take-Aways.

The above late-night meal of Tandoori Chicken, Seekh Kebab, Pullao (Saffron flavor) Rice and Garlic Naan was ordered from Drummond Villa, which is probably pretty ordinary Indian food by British standards. Still, the Tandoori was perfectly spiced and very moist,  and the Seekh Kebab (ground lamb) was excellent and made a great impromptu sandwich on the puffly garlic naan, all eaten from the convenience and solitude of my hotel room. While we have no lack of Indian restaurants in Northern NJ, I’d kill to have a place like this near my house that stayed open until 11PM!

One Response to Anyone Fancy a Kebab?

  1. Matt says:

    Hello!

    I am contacting you because I am working with the authors of a book about blogs, and I’d like to request permission to use the photograph you have posted in this book. Please contact me at matt@wefeelfine.org, and I’d be happy to give you more information about the project. Please paste a link to your blog in the subject field. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Matt

Leave a Reply

