Do You Say Pop, Soda, or Coke?


Do you say Pop, Soda or Coke? Click on the photo for Enlargement.

More:

The Great Pop Vs. Soda Controversy (PopVsSoda.com)

5 Responses to Do You Say Pop, Soda, or Coke?

  1. sam says:

    fizzy drink, actually!

  2. kristin says:

    In the Midwest, where I am you hear it called pop. But this is the only place. Everywhere else in the U.S. if you ask for pop, people look at you funny so I always try to refer to it as soda or something when I travel.

  3. TongoRad says:

    I’m from the greater NYC area but my mom is from Louisville, KY. The map shows that area is in solidly “Coke” territory and my experience definitely confirms that. I still recall one summer as a kid when my Aunt asked me to get her a Coke and I came back to tell her that all that was in the fridge was orange soda; when she told me that that was indeed what she wanted we both kind of gave each other a puzzled look and had a bit of a laugh. I still can’t reconcile calling anything but a Coke a Coke but hey, the lingo is the lingo. They say Pop down there a lot as well, fwiw.

  4. Chloe Painter says:

    POP POP POP POP POP!!!!

  5. Leah says:

    I say pop because I live in Ohio, but my best friend who just moved here from Rhode Island says soda. She always looks at people weird when they say pop, which tends to happen a lot. But I’ve never heard anyone say coke though; to me that’s really weird.

Leave a Reply

