NJ Dining: Van Dyke Ice Cream


Van Dyke Ice Cream
145 Ackerman Ave, Ridgewood, NJ
(201) 444-1429

This past summer we’ve profiled a few of the top ice cream places (1) (2) (3) (4) in Northern New Jersey, but I’ve saved one of the best for last. Unless you’re a Ridgewood native or heard about it via word of mouth, you probably don’t know about Van Dyke’s. The reason being is its not anywhere near a highway or on a main street near other businesses — it’s smack dab in the middle of a residential neighborhood. Like, its a house on a residential street that serves home made ice cream. In fact, until somebody reminded me recently what the name of the place was and professed to know where exactly it was located, I hadn’t returned in nearly ten years.

Van Dyke Ice Cream is located on the intersection of Ackerman Avenue and Spencer Place in Ridgewood. There’s a small wooden sign in the parking lot which isn’t lit up at night — the place doesn’t advertise and basically looks like a residential house with a somewhat bigger parking lot than some of the other houses in the neighborhood. There’s really very little indication that it’s a business.

Van Dyke makes all its own ice cream on premises. The selection is limited to about a dozen different flavors at any time, but all of them are excellent.

A “regular” ice cream cone, Bailey’s Irish Cream with Chocolate Chips.

Strawberry with Chocolate Chips.

18 Responses to NJ Dining: Van Dyke Ice Cream

  1. Kate says:

    This ice cream looks amazing!

  2. Jon says:

    I love this place! But I can never FIND it. That Google Maps link you gave will probably be a lifesaver in the future.

  3. Chris says:

    BEST ICE CREAM EVA!! and they give you so much!

  4. anna says:

    I LOVE this ice cream…whenever i feel like having ice cream I go to Van Dyke’s! this one night i felt like having ice cream and the first place that comes to mind is…VAN DYKE’S!! if you haven’t been there you HAVE to go…you don’t know what your missing!
    BEST HOMEMADE ICE CREAM EVER! ;-) C>

  5. Bill says:

    I grew up in a town nearby to Ridgewood, and going to Van Dyke’s for iced cream was always a special treat. (high school class of 1963.)

  6. Gail Earman says:

    I was born and raised in Glen Rock, next door to Ridgewood and we rode our bikes to VanDykes many, many times for their homeade ice cream. Coffee, fresh peach and banana were my favorites and so were all the special ice creams they made around the holidays.

  7. Gail Earman says:

    Best place to go today as it was 40 + years ago!

  8. Jane Edmondson says:

    I grew up in Glen Rock. One of my favorite memories is going to VanDykes with my parents on a hot summer evening. Our house didn’t have airconditioning. My favorite was cantaloupe ice cream. I have never found it anywhere else. It is wonderful that the place still exists.

  9. Jeff Del Vecchio says:

    I grew up in Wyckoff and used to go to Van Dykes’. This place has outstanding homemade ice cream! Better than Applegate farms and the old T&W by the duck pond in Ridgewood. The T&W was fun to go to because you could walk around the park with your cones. BUT, Van Dyke’s has better ice cream. Try the cantaloupe flavor…..it’s great and have never seen that flavor anywhere else. The pumpkin is awesome too. Have fun, worth the trip.

    • Sherry says:

      Gotta agree, that canteloupe flavor is yummy!! I was hesitant at first, but it’s really good!! I also love the peanut butter ice cream…

  10. Zac in WA State says:

    I grew up 5 miles away. Used to bike over on hot afternoons. THE BEST ice cream, bar none! Don’t pass this up if you’re in the area.

  11. Jules in MA says:

    My parents used to own this place when I was a little girl!

  12. Bob in south jersey says:

    my grandfather Charles Martin was a distributer for T&W ice cream in the 60s&70s and he also sold ice cream from Van Dykes I remember going there in the late 70s with him to pick it up brings back memories

  13. I’ve lived and/or worked in the area for quite a number of years, and I’ve driven past the place often. It wasn’t until today that my family and I decided to go there and try it out. Excellent stuff. If you’re anywhere near the area it should be a must-stop.

  14. Lauren Van Dyk says:

    My grandparents opened this shop decades ago, my father grew up chopping fresh fruit and nuts for the ice cream, and I’m glad to hear that it’s still doing well!

  15. Brings back memories when my boys played baseball in Ridgewood. When they won, the coach would treat them to ice cream at Van Dyk’s.

  16. I used to walk here when visiting my grandmother many, many, years ago. Glad to know they are still there :)

Leave a Reply

