NYC Dining: La Caridad 78


La Caridad
2199 Broadway, New York, NY
(212) 874-2780

It’s been a joke in a Seinfeld episode, and its also one of my favorite late-night dumps to eat at. Dirt cheap, and great “Bad Chinese American” cuisine, with a Latino twist.

Patty: So I told Bobby and Lisa that we’d try the new Chinese Spanish place La Caridad on Saturday.

Jerry: Oh, I thought we had tickets for the Knicks home opener.

Patty: Well I thought this would be more fun so I gave the tickets away.

Jerry: What? All right, fine.

Patty: Are you mad at me?

Jerry: No, I love a good Chinese Spanish whatever it is.

As I stated in my recent admission on the Chinatown Brasserie thread on eG Forums:

Lately I’m very much into authentic regional styles of Chinese cuisine, such as real Sichuan and Shanghainese and Hunan and Hong Kong-style dishes. From time to time I like a Chicken Chow Mein or a Beef and Broccoli, but I tend to like that in a more downscale version, if that makes any sense.

Well, there is probably nothing more downscale in my mind than La Caridad 78. La Caridad is a dump, and I like it that way. After spending $137 on upscale Chinese American food last night and having just a few canapes to hold me over at the Brasserie Ruhlmann cocktail party tonight, I had to go eat something substantial. And cheap.

IMG_5380.JPG

IMG_5383.JPG

IMG_5390.JPG

IMG_5392.JPG

There’s nothing cooler than practicing your Spanish with a bunch of Chinese waiters. Un Egg Foo Young de Pollo, Por favor.

IMG_5398.JPG

La Caridad makes a mean Egg Roll, with both pork and shrimp in it.

IMG_5408.JPG

La Caridad is the only Chinese restaurant I know of with this bizarre condiment selection on each table. And they serve you BREAD.

IMG_5415.JPG

House Special Fried Rice. So bad, so good.

IMG_5418.JPG

General Tso’s Chicken. The La Caridad version actually has a bit of tangyness to it.

IMG_5422.JPG

Asopado de Camarones, one of the Cuban selections. Nice amount of shrimp in it.

IMG_5426.JPG

Spare Ribs.

IMG_5432.JPG

Behind the counter is this array of steamer trays that they use to hold trays of yellow rice (and a few other things) that they serve with the Cuban plates.

One Response to NYC Dining: La Caridad 78

  1. Man – I love that place! The food is cheap and plentiful and tasty. And where else can you get plantains with chinese food.

Leave a Reply

