Beige is Beautiful


So, sometimes it happens that through a series of events, that you end up with a meal that can be somewhat monochromatic. I mean, it happens to the best of us. White asparagus was onsale yesterday at our local vegetable market and I thought it would be cool to try, since I had never made it fresh before. We had made a whole lot of rice pilaf the other night to go with some moussaka we had brought out of cryonic suspension (it was a year old and it still was great!) so we had plenty left over, and on my trip to COSTCO today, they had these awesome thick boneless pork chops out they had just butchered. It had only occured to me later that our meal this evening would end up totally beige.

beigemeal

So, yeah, its a one-color meal. But you know what? It was still mighty tasty — I had marinated the pork chops in a combination of red grapefruit juice, lime juice, dark and regular soy, garlic, hot sauce, salt, pepper and honey, with a bunch of green onions that were on the verge of going off, and some spicy green Korean chile peppers I had left over. The white asparagus I blanched for 5 minutes, shocked them in cold water, and Rachel made a nice balsamic vinaigrette with dijon mustard to go with it. For the the pork chops, in addition to a bit of jus, we used a Tabasco caribbean-style steak sauce as a condiment — also brown.

Screw these people that say you need a pallete of color with your meal. Beige is beautiful. And tasty.

2 Responses to Beige is Beautiful

  1. Melissa says:

    There is absolutely nothing wrong with a monochromatic meal whatsoever … and the beige looks enormously appetizing on that plate to me … the pork chop, looks rich and succulent as only the Perlows can do them … bon(e) appetit from down here in kosher Dixie, ya’ll!

    sidebar here: I have high heels which I wear when I dress up and they are termed “bone” .. I wear them with beige outfits … beige is so hot!

  2. […] For those of you who think this plate of food is too beige, I will state for the record that Rachel cooked up some green beans, but I refused to photograph them on the grounds that the Germans would be perfectly happy with the above plate. […]

Leave a Reply

