Lobster Roll and Ipswich Clam Frydays at Picnic Caterers


Picnic Catering
(201) 321-3213

I know I must sound like a broken record, but I can’t say enough nice things about Picnic Caterers — they continually raise the bar for great takeout food in Bergen County and I love going over there to see whatever Christine is up to and to plot our next mad scientist sandwich project together. Last Friday, she invited me over to take a look at the majorly in-demand, make-sure-you-reserve-it New England Lobster Rolls and Fried Belly Clams she was preparing for lunch. All she had to do was say “Ipswich Belly Clam” and I was so there, she didn’t even have to say anything else.

IMG_8498

The chalkboard says it all. Click on the “Read the rest of this entry” link below for more!

IMG_8495-1

Exhibit A, the lobster salad. This is simply just big chunks of Maine lobster with celery, mayo, and S&P. Christine gets her lobsters from a nearby lobster wholesaling business, so they are very fresh, but she only buys as many as people ask for, so you need to reserve yours if you know you want one. I recommend calling over there early in the morning.

IMG_8507-1

Exhibit B, a New England Lobster Roll on Toasted Hot Dog Bun, served just as God intended.

IMG_8517-1

Since the Lobster Rolls are in such high demand, and because I forgot to reserve mine, I had to “settle” for a Shrimp Salad sandwich. Let me tell you, this is no average shrimp salad — the shrimps are huge, left whole, with nothing more than a little bit of mayo holding it together.

IMG_8526-1

Shrimp Salad Sandwich closeup.

IMG_8489

Rachel ordered a Mesclun Salad with Seared Diver Scallops. These are the really good, big, dry scallops that are fished off the shores of South Jersey.

IMG_8492

Fresh salad dressing being drizzled over the greens.

IMG_8537-1

Finished Salad.

IMG_8411

For the Fried Clams, fresh Ipswich Belly Clams brought in from New England are dredged in flour that has been seasoned with Salt and Pepper. No commercial breading mixes are used here. This is just like the way it’s done at clam shacks in Mass and all over New England, such as top places like Christie’s.

IMG_8414

Next the clams are deep fried in a bot of boiling 350 degree oil.

IMG_8421

Until they start to become golden brown…

IMG_8429

And the bubbles begin to subside.

IMG_8446

The clams are then allowed to cool down on a drying rack so the excess oil can drip off.

IMG_8449

They are then placed in buns with a little bit of home made tartar sauce.

IMG_8457

IMG_8461

IMG_8478

Ready to eat!

12 Responses to Lobster Roll and Ipswich Clam Frydays at Picnic Caterers

  1. Paul says:

    OH MY!!! Those clam rolls look wonderful. We only have once place in Orlando that we can go to for Ipswich clams…but I would really like to get my hands on some of those New England Hot Dog Buns…. so that the sides can be toasted… Thanks sooooo much for posting this. =Paul

  2. Luke says:

    Bellies make all the difference. They are full of juicy clam flavor. To be honest I am not quite sure why they are ever served without the belly. Luckily you can get fried clams with the belly down at Hank’s Oyster Bar, here in DC.

  3. Leigh says:

    You’re making my mouth water with those gorgeous lobster rolls!! Not to mention making me miss my beautiful Maine. It’s been well over a year since I’ve been back and I just dream about that delicacy. And I totally agree with Paul about the New England hot dog rolls!!

    Anyone for Moxie?

  4. anonymom says:

    We’re currently at the Jersey Shore with no good place for fried clams! Unless you have a suggestion…? I feel like driving all the way up north now!

  5. Booklyn says:

    Jason, I share completely your love of whole-belly clams, which is why is so disappoints me that you repeatedly misspell Ipwsich, no “t.”

    Do you use wheat flour, or a mixture of corn and wheat?

  6. Sorry Booklyn, I’ve corrected it. :) That’s my computer geek talking — theres a software company called “Ipswitch” and that’s how I typically spell it.

    http://www.ipswitch.com/

  7. As to the Corn/Wheat flour issue — I think for clams, stirctly wheat. For fried oysters, corn or wheat and corn.

  8. Christine says:

    Well, I use wheat for both. However, given my druthers, off the shell for oysters. Why mess with perfection? You know what I mean?

  9. Raw oysters are great, but you can’t beat deep fried Louisiana oysters in a Po Boy or with an order of fries and cole slaw. I’ll be up to my armpits in them in about 10 days.

  10. daedalus says:

    Why aren’t clams usually fried with bellies? Because they are freaking disgusting to most. You got a mess of innards and clam bowel movements in there. Also harder to ship, more spoilage.

    OK So I like them fried with bellies too. The No Name in Boston is my favorite. Unfortunately it doesn’t get uniformly good reviews. No Name also has slaw, tartar sauce and fish chowder worth reverse engineering. The tartar sauce is very pickle heavy. Less mayo. The person who bottles that will make money. The fish chowder is milky and thin, full of mixed fish. A refreshing contrast to creamy chowders

  11. PanFriedFlounder says:

    To anonymom,
    Don’t bother driving up from the shore. I stopped by Picnic Catering today hoping to get a shot at picking up one of their lobster rolls and they are closed until after Labor Day!!! Looks like it’ll be Legal’s Seafood for their very decent lobster roll and fried calms (bellies included!)

  12. Yeah, I’m sorry, I should have said Thursday was their last day until Labor Day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

