NJ Dining: Bischoff’s (UPDATED)


Bischoff’s
468 Cedar Ln, Teaneck, NJ
(201) 836-0333

As the hot weather draws near, I continually find myself seeking good sources of ice cream, and particularly, the traditional ice cream parlor and soda shop, a fixture of Americana which like the Jewish Deli is quickly disappearing from the landscape.

Northern New Jersey appears to be blessed with a number of remaining Soda Shops and Ice Cream parlors, such as Holsten’s, which I was convinced was the oldest such surviving example in the area, but was proven wrong. Bischoff’s, in Teaneck, appears to hold that title, preceding the other by five years. Opened in 1934, Bischoff’s has been selling old-school ice cream treats and candy to children of all ages.

Ready for some serious old-school ice cream, Jersey style? Click on the “Read the rest of this entry” link below for more.

Storefront on Cedar Lane in Teaneck.

This is right before the place got totally packed from the outpour of folks coming out of the nearby movie theater.

Everything you could possibly want to rot your teeth can be purchased here.

Shakes and Sodas are still made the old-fashioned way.

40 flavors of ice cream are made on premises.

Click on the menu photo for hi-res closeup.

We decided to go for a “Battleship Sundae”, one of Bischoff’s signature items. This is two (big) scoops of their home-made ice cream, topped with freshly made whipped cream, walnuts and chocolate chips, with sugar wafer “guns”. You’ll need two very hungry people to sink this battleship.

Visual comparison of the Battleship Sundae with the actual Battleship New Jersey.

On the port side, the battleship is flanked with pineapple.

And on the starboard side, strawberry.

A small dish of Black Raspberry with hot fudge.

An Orange Freeze, made with freshly squeezed orange juice, orange sherbet and seltzer. Incredibly refreshing to drink on a balmy summer evening. The sherbet contains bits of candied orange peel which add a nice little surprise with the occasional sip.

Pre-packed frozen pints are available for take-out if you still get the ice cream craving later. You can also get freshly packed if they don’t have the flavor you want ready to go.

13 Responses to NJ Dining: Bischoff’s (UPDATED)

  1. Harry says:

    The Teaneck classic. I went there last time I was in Teaneck (My wife is from that spiritual wasteland). The sundaes were pretty good, and the place had an old school feel which was fun, but all of the ice cream has ice crystals in it. Not so fun.

  2. We were lucky… no ice crystals

  3. Victoria says:

    I can’t get enough of their Butter Crunch ice cream!
    It’s been years since I’ve had it – I think I know where I’m heading this weekend.

  4. Donna & John Bischoff says:

    We hope to check out the place in person being it is my husbands last name ! :)

  5. Lisa says:

    As I am a regular, I can assure you that “ice crystals” are an oddity. I have never experienced them in 25 years of going to the store. What I have experienced is the world’s best ice cream, and even better hot fudge! If you have not been, go. If you have been, go back, it’s still there! This is a great place to meet friends, sit alone and read a book, or have ice cream for a friend’s birthday!

  6. Liz Fitzpatrick says:

    I grew up in Teaneck, and now live in Georgia and Bischoff’s is one of the things I miss most, and look forward to the most when I go back to Jersey. My husband is from Los Angeles and thinks they have the best chocolate in the world. In fact, he requires that anyone from my family who visits bring a bag to us when they come to GA. We miss you Bischoff’s and can’t wait until we make our next trip.

  7. ivan bischoff from croatia says:

    Hello from Europe – Croatia
    Maybe we are relatives

  8. Ivan Kaufman says:

    I grew up in Teaneck and Bischoffs was part of my regular stops during the hot summers! When I am in the area. I still like to stop by and suck down a nice cold chocolate milk shake! Or malted milk shake! The guys working there have been there since the 70 at least!

  9. Jo-Ann says:

    My new year’s resolution a year and a half ago was to try each flavor of Bischoff’s ice cream. I have not yet reached my goal, but I am having a lot of fun! My friend, a 1967 graduate of Teaneck High School and a longtime resident of Teaneck, remembers fondly the many dusty roads she consumed while pining over boyfriends and crushes on math teachers from Thomas Jefferson Jr. High School. She has an aunt who comes from Wisconsin specifically for a wet walnut sundae, and is now sporting an official Bischoff’s tshirt.

  10. […] play this. If you want to make a true night of it, I suggest taking your date down the street to Bischoff’s  for an ice cream malt before. Because they still wear paper hats, churn their  own ice cream […]

  11. M says:

    i grew up in teaneck and the family still lives there. i went into bischoff’s exactly one time in my life and never came back because i met with some racist treatment by the staff about 7 years ago. i’m not jewish or white or really any “major minority” in the area. we are the true minorities of teaneck. i wish i could get over it and go back there.. it’s a gem of a place that the town has and i wish i had good memories so i could bring my children there.

  12. M says:

    I LOVE the ice cream at this place! Been there a few times and it’s always delicious and decently priced. But sometimes it smells inside :(

  13. NJtoTX says:

    Loved it when I was a kid in the 60s.Last time I was there, though, I got a hot fudge sundae that wasn’t even close to warm. Tasted like plastic-covered ice cream.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

